Home > DTC, Logging, SQL Queries, SQL Server, SSIS, SSIS 2008, SSIS Tasks > Excel and SSIS 64-bit Connections

Excel and SSIS 64-bit Connections



I stumbled upon a new error yesterday. I developed a simple and straight forward SSIS package in my machine. It was meant to copy data from an Excel 2007 sheet to a table. It worked fine in my machine, but as soon as I moved it to  the server the package started failing. I had never come across this particular error before.

Source: ImportClientXLS Connection manager “Excel Connection Manager”
Description: SSIS Error Code DTS_E_OLEDB_EXCEL_NOT_SUPPORTED: The Excel Connection Manager is not supported in the 64-bit version of SSIS, as no OLE DB provider is available.

then I realised I had a 32-bit machine and the server was 64-bit. And the dtexec used in 32 b was different from 64 b machines . The resolution to this error is simple. I just changed the command string.

My initial command string was

dtexec /f “D:\MigrationPackages\B2S\EPGSE.dtsx”

The  above string point to 64 b programfiles folder in 64 b machines and hence I changed it to point to 32 b programfiles folder.

“C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\100\DTS\Binn\dtexec.exe” /f “D:\MigrationPackages\B2S\EPGSE.dtsx” /X86

and it worked perfectly fine and my day saved.;)

The post is also available at our website: http://geekepisodes.com/2010/06/12/excel-and-ssis-64-bit-connections/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

