Home > Tips & Tricks > Add wallpaper to a folder in XP

Add wallpaper to a folder in XP

To add wallpaper to a folder in XP, follow the steps

1. Open the folder.

2. Choose Tools, Folder Options, and click the View tab.

3. Under ‘Advanced settings’, select Show hidden files and folders (you may need to double-click Hidden files and folders first).

4. Uncheck Hide protected operating system files (Recommended) and click Yes when you see the warning.Click OK

5. Double-click the file named desktop.ini to open it in your text editor (you may not see the .ini extension). If you can’t find a desktop.ini file, launch Notepad or your preferred text editor.

6. In your text editor, type   BE098140-A513-11D0-A3A4-00C04FD706EC (this line contains no capital letter Os, only zeroes) on the first line, and press Enter.

7. Type IconArea_Image= and the path to your .bmp, .gif, or .jpg image file–for example, ‘IconArea_Image=C:\My Documents\My Pictures\Picture Name.jpg’ or just ‘Picture Name.jpg’ for removable drives and pen drives. Then press Enter.

8. Open cmd and type attrib +s “folder address” .   ( Example :   ‘attrib +s C:\Documents and Settings\…\My Documents\My Folder’ ).

Refresh the page to see the cutomized folder.

If you want to change the color of the Icon text do the following: To leave the icon text black, do nothing.

For white, type IconArea_Text=0x00FFFFFF (make sure that the x is lowercase) and press Enter. For red text, replace the code that follows the equal sign with 0x000000FF; to make the text yellow, type 0x0000FFFF; for blue text, use 0x00FF0000; and to show gray text, enter 0x00808080.  If you’re editing the folder’s existing desktop.ini file, save the file and close your text editor. If you created the file from scratch, save it with the name “desktop.ini” in the folder that will house the background picture; use quotation marks to keep Notepad from adding its default .txt extension.

  1. February 28, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    It’s an awesome post for all the online visitors; they will get advantage from it I am sure.

  2. March 19, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your web site in internet explorer, may check this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a huge component of people will leave out your magnificent writing because of this problem.

  3. March 23, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness for your post is simply excellent and i can suppose you are an expert in this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to seize your feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.

  4. March 24, 2013 at 12:11 am

    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  5. March 24, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about %meta_keyword%. Regards

  6. April 22, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    That is the suitable blog for anybody who desires to search out out about this topic. You realize a lot its virtually arduous to argue with you (not that I truly would need…HaHa). You positively put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply nice!

  7. April 24, 2013 at 6:59 am

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you simply shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  8. April 25, 2013 at 9:45 am

    For newest information you have to pay a quick visit web and on internet I found this website as a most excellent web site for hottest updates.

  9. April 25, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later on. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work, have a nice evening!

  10. April 26, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Hey I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  11. April 27, 2013 at 8:13 am

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to offer something back and aid others such as you aided me.

  12. April 27, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

  13. April 27, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    It is really a nice and useful piece of info. I am happy that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  14. April 28, 2013 at 7:31 am

    My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  15. April 28, 2013 at 7:44 am

    Quality articles or reviews is the main to be a focus for the people to go to see the site, that’s what this site is providing.

  16. April 28, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    I was suggested this website by means of my cousin. I am no longer positive whether this submit is written by him as nobody else recognise such particular approximately my problem. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  17. April 29, 2013 at 7:34 am

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was once a enjoyment account it. Look advanced to far delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how could we be in contact?

  18. April 29, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!

  19. May 3, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    %blog_comment%

  20. May 5, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    May I simply just say what a relief to uncover a person that truly knows what they are discussing over the internet. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people must check this out and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you certainly have the gift.

  21. May 10, 2013 at 5:43 am

    What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are pleasant in support of new viewers.

  22. May 11, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    These are truly great ideas in concerning blogging. You have touched some nice points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  23. May 12, 2013 at 4:03 am

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I came across this in my search for something concerning this.

  24. May 12, 2013 at 5:49 am

    Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  25. May 12, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

  26. May 14, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    Hi, I do believe your website could be having web browser compatibility problems. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, wonderful blog!

  27. May 15, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    Hello there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

  28. May 16, 2013 at 9:00 am

    There is definately a lot to know about this subject. I really like all of the points you’ve made.

  29. May 18, 2013 at 11:10 am

    Hiya very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally? I am satisfied to seek out numerous useful info here in the post, we need work out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  30. May 19, 2013 at 1:56 am

    Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue along with your web site in internet explorer, may check this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a huge component to folks will omit your great writing due to this problem.

  31. May 19, 2013 at 8:08 am

    Thanks for every other fantastic post. Where else could anyone get that type of info in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such information.

  32. May 19, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

  33. May 19, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    Very good article. I absolutely appreciate this site. Continue the good work!

  34. May 20, 2013 at 11:28 am

    No matter if some one searches for his vital thing, thus he/she needs to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over here.

  35. May 20, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    If you desire to get much from this post then you have to apply such techniques to your won web site.

  36. May 23, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Undeniably believe that that you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be at the web the simplest thing to be mindful of. I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same time as other people think about concerns that they just do not realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as outlined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other folks can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  37. May 25, 2013 at 3:05 am

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  38. May 25, 2013 at 6:31 am

    Very good website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  39. May 28, 2013 at 1:50 am

    The six-pack abs workouts are made to give you an excellent workout in your stomach location.

  40. May 28, 2013 at 8:13 am

    It’s an remarkable post designed for all the online visitors; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  41. May 31, 2013 at 8:59 am

    It’s hard to come by well-informed people for this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  42. June 4, 2013 at 1:20 am

    We stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking over your web page yet again.

  43. June 7, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say you have done a excellent job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera. Superb Blog!

  44. June 8, 2013 at 9:26 am

    Hello, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

  45. June 8, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Thank you for some other wonderful post. The place else could anybody get that kind of info in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such information.

  46. June 8, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I was suggested this website by way of my cousin. I’m now not sure whether this publish is written by way of him as no one else know such specified approximately my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  47. June 10, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Hi there to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are fastidious in support of new people.

  48. June 11, 2013 at 4:05 am

    It’s nearly impossible to find experienced people for this subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  49. June 11, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  50. June 12, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I achievement you get entry to persistently rapidly.

  51. June 17, 2013 at 2:58 am

    Everyone loves it when individuals come together and share views. Great website, continue the good work!

  52. June 23, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this website on regular basis to take updated from latest news.

  53. July 4, 2013 at 12:49 am

    今、あなたは、もはや必要がある無視するいくつか重要な出来事のテレビ番組シリーズ、受け取っている。Vitamixとblendtecの提供です本当に楽ながを使用の。

  54. July 5, 2013 at 4:46 am

    This technological range is also very much easy to employ for net surfing, IM applications and thus text editing needs, owing to its just complete QWERTY computer keyboard. HDPC has full QWERTY keyboard online of sight, across its screen.

  55. July 5, 2013 at 4:59 am

    This advice gadget even, having Digital TV receiver that is entirely sync with DVB ? For those that desire the look to a bow bags but prefer an absolute smaller handbag the mini has a smaller profile.

  56. July 7, 2013 at 7:45 am

    Great article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website. Keep up the good writing.

  57. July 7, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    I truly love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own personal website and would like to find out where you got this from or what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  58. July 7, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing the other person’s weblog link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

  59. July 8, 2013 at 2:18 am

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  60. July 8, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Everyone loves it when individuals get together and share thoughts. Great site, keep it up!

  61. July 9, 2013 at 2:32 am

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Internet explorer. Exceptional Blog!

  62. July 11, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  63. July 11, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    These are actually impressive ideas in on the topic of blogging. You have touched some nice things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  64. July 14, 2013 at 6:25 am

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable activity and our whole neighborhood can be grateful to you.

  65. July 15, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    野郎正式な摩耗使用可能なレンタルと一緒に購入、tシャツ、靴、メンズを含む上品な防弾チョッキを着る紳士フォーマルネクタイ、ズボン。これら友人は、もする必要があります私せざるを得ない少し研究についてキャタピラー靴ようにするで利用可能な私ワードローブ。

  66. July 17, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    Hello this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  67. July 19, 2013 at 5:25 am

    My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, however I know I am getting know-how daily by reading such nice articles.

  68. July 21, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    I love looking through an article that can make people think. Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  69. July 23, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles or reviews everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  70. July 25, 2013 at 10:18 am

    認レザークロス体キャリアバーバリーオプショントップクラック閉鎖と内面ライニングします。さらに、、のバースト彩色だろう生産チームを識別するためトスカーナ州は人本当にを見ていたで小さなモニター。

  71. July 26, 2013 at 7:55 am

    Hence shopping during Rome will be a great experience a person. Carey came to be cute, but most would have fell in love with to see your partner’s in an over-the-top gown that a friend with her tiny stature and darling pixie cut can pull off.

  72. July 27, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    It employs Windows os XP, being the item’s primary operating system, thus, it is now capable to use nearly every common application designed by Windows. Both women and women can go for as per this taste.

  73. July 28, 2013 at 4:56 am

    TSH level may simultaneously be low during the first amounts of pregnancy. Kitschy handbags were came across all over any fall 2012 runways, and Beth Ostrosky Stern is pursuing one of our own few kitschy carrying cases from the has arrived and summer 2012 runways.

  74. July 30, 2013 at 6:11 am

    miu miu, a less expensive, but still special designer line of products from Prada was introduced in 1992. Key holders inside help you to hang your car to house keys, so that you do not lose them.

  75. July 30, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    トペン史する必要があります818cakaまたは896世紀に表示は表示ソースに記入されたものでprasatiBebetin時間どこUgrasenaだった、王。ジョセフLoubouinは一般的にロッカーを追加優雅さにスタッド1つの特定の端あなたの人のデニム肩バッグ春の。

  76. August 4, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  77. August 7, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Great article.

  78. Bennie
    August 9, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and may come back later in life. I want to encourage continue your great job, have a nice day!

  79. August 9, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  80. August 10, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Normally I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

  81. August 11, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    constantly i used to read smaller content which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading at this place.

  82. January 25, 2014 at 3:42 am

    Just where did you pick up the techniques to publish ““Add wallpaper
    to a folder in XP | Awesome SQL”? Thanks a lot -Valentin

  1. May 6, 2014 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

